Summer Fishing

I think next summer I‘ll go fishing again,
I shall have my grandchildren join me, amen,
I will show them how to tie a fisherman’s knot,
Maybe teach them how to string a worm, maybe not,
On second thought, I shall teach them “fly fishing”,
Then go to the lake or a stream, mosquitoes hitching,
All the fish we will return to the water back to life,
We won’t even take a scaling blade or filleting knife,
We shall take peanut butter and jam sandwiches,
Some lemonade and maybe hot dogs and sausages,
Everyone will wear his or her own wide brim hat,
So no one will burn top of the head just like that,
Later that afternoon, we shall have dinner of course,
Some more peanut butter with jam and no remorse,
xox
Leave a Reply

