Putting the Kids to Sleep

 As the days I have behind me, outnumber,
The days awaiting me ahead before I go under,
As my children have their own, making me grandpa,
Although I am not ready yet to retire to Tampa,
I remember how I used to put my children to sleep,
On my tummy they would lie and in a second not a beep,
They would have their ear against my chest, my heartbeat,
Would calm them in a minute the rhythm was the treat,
These are the memories one carries with oneself always,
Although my kids are way too big to do the same nowadays,
xox
Leave a Reply

