Family Albums

I like to flip through the old family albums,
(Of which I do have plenty of volumes),
Pictures of my children at play and rest,
Many a time falling asleep right on my chest,
Walking the walk riding up on my shoulder,
In the cold of winter or the heat of summer,
Many pictures were taken over the years,
So that later we can look at and regress,
I see myself as I really was a naïve youngster,
Idealistic, looking to what lays ahead, a believer,
Yet now many decades later my kids are adults,
With families, responsibilities their own albums,
If I were to put them on my shoulder today,
Put me six feet under and begin to pray,
xox

Leave a Reply

