Chess

For years, I used to play chess,
I had plastic ivory and wooden sets,
Some were new and cheap some old,
With history that is yet to be told,
Then came family and responsibilities,
Time to sit and concentrate was not at ease,
Chess to the side untouched was quietly put,
King, Queen, Bishop, Knight or soldier on foot,
Even the tower had to sit on the side,
Waiting for the change of the tide,
Now that the children are on their own,
I have acquired back my love for the pawn,
Every day I try late at night to compete,
To mate or at least tie winning is sweet,
It keeps the mind sharp the brain working,
As Alzheimer is waiting and lurking,
I know it is waiting around the corner the joker,
Since I brought my chess set to a game of poker,
xox
Leave a Reply

