Spare Parts

It seems to me,
That even with Vitamins C and D,
The years have done their work, alas,
A good heart – should be considered a plus,
Last week instead of reading my poetry,
The doctors were reading my ECG,
So here, I go for stress tests and checkups,
Measuring my intake in calories and cups,
At the end of the day we will know,
If I am still good to go,
I will be joining the ranks (maybe),
And have in my chest a part from under my knee,
Maybe a stent or two – will be inserted,
So no part of my heart will feel unfed and deserted,
xox
Leave a Reply

