Savings

When I was young, we were so poor
We came with all sorts of schemes, for the cure,
We saved and pinched every penny,
We were penny-wise, for one and many,
One day I came home from school, grinning,
I was so proud my head was spinning,
I went to my father, and proudly said:
“Dad, you have no idea, how much I’ve saved”
Instead of riding the bus, I ran after it on foot,
Now we have an extra quarter, in our pocket to put,
My father looked at me with a pitiful disdain,
“Next time run after the taxi, save a dollar you brain”,
He thinks I am stupid, he thinks I am insane,
After the taxi, he will have me run after the train,
xox
Leave a Reply

