White Nights

Another sleepless night, white night,
Images running in my head, a sight,
Same images that were with me for decades,
Same dark pictures in their one-color shades
As of last year, I have a few new ones,
The last words, of a dying man, my father
“Help Me” – his lips whisper,
There is nothing I can do, helplessness,
I was not there for him, in his time of need and stress,
Yet that picture is burnt and seared into my brain,
Scorched into a memory that never really was,
Nevertheless, is,
My cross to bear, my mark of Cain,
My guilt, my ball and chain,
My always “there” companion,
My tribe’s only true friend,
Pain.
xox
Leave a Reply

